top of page

Quiet Light Update 1.0

Hey there readers, it's been a while! There's been quite a bit of things going on in my life that I promise I will get into at a later date, but now is not the time. I thought I'd check in and give you all just a little update on my world and leave you with some thoughts.

So last Wednesday, March 8th, was International Women's Day (yay ladies!) and I was rather surprised by some of the things I saw. You can probably assume that I'm not a fan of the whole "let's strike and take the day off of work" thing. Here's what struck me--the media really blew up this strike, but here in the Midwest things seemed to go on pretty normally. I didn't see very many women wearing red, but maybe that's just where I live. This thought kept bothering me all week, and I would appreciate it if someone could answer-- if people where encouraging women to take the day off of work for "a day without a woman", what about stay at home moms? What about nurses and doctors and other women upon whom other peoples' lives depend? I am genuinely curious as to what these people were supposed to do. Forgive me, I promise I'm not trying to sound bitter, but what about people who are unemployed? I could go on, but I'm going to go ahead and drop the subject because it happened last week and I'm kind of over it anyway.

PSA-- Beauty and the Beast comes out this Friday and I'm totally going.

My Lent isn't going to great-- I've been sick quite a bit so it's been very difficult to stick to my diet. And I've been busy (I know, excuses excuses) so it's been tricky to do my Instagram challenge. I'm going to try to catch myself up by doing a few photos a day. The no swearing rule has been very difficult for me, but at least I'm more aware of what I'm saying. Finally, talking more positively to and about people seems to be going okay. I've messed up a few times, but again, I'm more aware of what I'm saying. Hopefully your Lent is more successful than mine has been.

I spent last weekend in Wichita visiting with family, which was pretty fun. Every time I go back home I realize just how much I miss it. When I moved up to northeast Kansas I remember how offended I was when classmates and friends would talk about how boring they thought Wichita was. Sure, there isn't as much to do there as there is in Kansas City, but I promise you there are some areas that are up and coming. We went out to lunch with my brother-in-law, his wife, and my mother-in-law in this great area that has come a long way since the last time I was there. It's starting to look like some of our old haunts in Lawrence (where my husband and I went to college). Actually, if I'm being honest, I am not a fan of all the suburbs of the Kansas City metro area. The more time I spend in Overland Park, Olathe, Lenexa, Leawood, etc, I realize how different the people are and the culture is there. Don't get me wrong, we love Kansas City (MO). It's a really diverse, fun, exciting place to live, especially if you're in your twenties or thirties. But, to be totally honest, I don't see us living here forever. Most of our family is back home in Wichita and we miss them too much to stay here for very long. Sorry, that's the homesick me talking--I'm pretty much done being away from home after six and a half years.

My mom bought me some ridiculously expensive sports bras at Kohl's (thanks, Mom). I think we need to agree right here and right now that the prices on clothing are ridiculous. One sports bra--not even a regular bra-- cost like $56. That's just silly. There's no way the fabric used to make it costs even half of that amount.

Weather here in the Midwest has been pretty nuts. We had snow and cold weather several days in a row. I'm sitting in my office absolutely freezing right now because, of course, when the weather decides to get cold, my heater decides it can't work anymore. I understand, I totally shut down too. However, by the end of the week things should be looking up, with sun and temperatures in the 60s again. Thank goodness.

Final announcement: my younger sister and I are going to see Ed Sheeran here in KC on June 29th (the day after my birthday eek!). I'm pretty pumped about that-- his new album is fantastic. I love the Irish vibes that he tapped into for a couple of the songs.

Okay, I really don't have much else, so keep on keepin' on!

--Caity


bottom of page