top of page

Your Quick, One-Stop Guide to a Fruitful Lent

Do you feel discouraged or disappointed when you hear that Ash Wednesday is coming? Have you felt like your last few Lenten seasons were a bit unproductive? Overall, do you feel like Lent is a total drag?

I felt this way for a good portion of my life. Sometimes I had very productive, very fruitful Lenten seasons, mostly as an adolescent. Sometimes I had terrible Lenten seasons in which I did the bare minimum. Well, Lent isn't just for kids who go to Catholic school. I'm learning about how Lent can still be a great experience and a spiritual recharging in my adult life. Hopefully my goals and aspirations for Lent can help you begin to formulate your Lenten plan and maybe even a whole new outlook on Lent.

Step 1: Sacrifice

It's that age old question that Catholics and many other Christians fear: What are you giving up for Lent? There are, frankly, so many options for Lenten sacrifices that it can become a bit frustrating finding the right thing to give up. We don't want to give up something we depend on, like coffee or vegetables (staples in my life). We don't want to give up something that you've already done a million times, like chocolate. We don't want to give up something that would be too difficult, like listening to music (music is a major part of my life, but how do you avoid music in the grocery store??). We don't want to give up something that is too easy, like candy (I rarely eat candy). Now, these are only examples in my case. If you are strong enough to give up coffee, if you've never given up chocolate, if you could give up music successfully, or if candy is something you indulge in often, maybe those sacrifices are for you. Please don't give up vegetables, you need them to survive. Jesus doesn't want you to give up vegetables, I promise.

When you're trying to decide on something to give up for Lent, the key is to find something that is somewhere between "just right" and "pretty difficult". Our priest this past Sunday said it should be something you would notice being gone every day-- for instance if you put creamer in your coffee every day (you clearly don't understand how wonderful black coffee is and I feel sorry for you), maybe leave out the creamer every day. I also feel that it's important to give up something that is not good for you, mentally, bodily, or spiritually. Back to creamer--creamer is *usually* *more often than not* bad for you. Maybe it will be a good thing to give something like that up! I don't remember who said it to me, but I was told a long time ago that this is a great practice which will result not only in sacrifice and self-denial, but you'll also begin to develop better habits.

So, for Lent 2K17, I'm giving up a couple things. First of all, I'm giving up swearing. That is something I do every day, unfortunately. It's also something that is bad, so hopefully I'll be able to develop a better habit of saying what I mean without resorting to foul language. (Now, realistically, I don't think its going to go away completely, that would be crazy. But I would love to see this bad habit be diminished significantly.). The second thing I'm giving up is saying negative things about people, including myself (see Being Judgemental and Being Insecure). Again, something I do every day and a bad habit that should be resolved.

Step 1.5-- Replenish with a Good Habit

This isn't really another step because it simply adds on to step 1. The idea is to take whatever you're giving up and replace it with something good. For example, if you're giving up listening to the radio in the car, replace that time with some prayer or an inspirational podcast. This is where giving up something bad for you can really work in your favor. One year I gave up cereal for breakfast (because I know carbs are a serious weakness of mine). I replaced cereal with fruit or protein (usually an apple or an egg). I ended up losing some weight from this practice. Now, I know that isn't the point of Lent, but it gives you something to consider.

My Lent 2K17: I'm replacing swearing and saying negative things with going out of my way to give compliments and say nice things about others. I want my mind to be working overtime, trying to notice the good in everyone around me.

Step 2-- Fasting and Abstaining

Get out your calendars, we're talking about days when your diet is going to change a little bit.

What is fasting?

Fasting has to do with lessening your food intake in two parts. Firstly, you don't eat between meals-- no snacks at all. This typically includes drinks that are not water (yes, even coffee). Secondly, you should eat one normally sized meal a day, then two smaller ones (which, if you put them together, would not equal the normal-sized meal, according to the USCCB). I would highly recommend eating a large breakfast. This is healthier for you in the long run and you will be less tempted to snack between other meals.

Fasting Exceptions

These rules are only obligatory for Catholics between the ages of 18 and 59; however, all Catholics above the age of 14 are encouraged to participate. There are, of course, exceptions for people who have medical conditions, including those who are pregnant or nursing. If you have diabetes, hypoglycemia, or another illness which requires you to eat more often, you are most likely exempt from fasting. Talk to a priest to make sure.

What is Abstinence?

Abstinence (in terms of Lent) refers to the practice of not eating meat on Ash Wednesday and all Fridays during Lent. "Meat" here refers to all flesh that comes from mammals or birds. However, fish is acceptable. I have no idea about reptiles or amphibians (for those of you who enjoy gator meat or frog legs). Also, you are allowed to eat products that come from mammals or birds, such as dairy or eggs. However, if you want to give these up as well, go for it!

I am in the process of creating this helpful Pinterest board that is *mostly* dedicated to abstaining from meat on Fridays. There are some yummy, healthy recipes that can help no-meat days become just a bit more bearable.

Important Days to Remember

Wednesday, March 1st-- Fast and Abstain (Ash Wednesday)

Friday, March 3rd-- Abstain

Friday, March 10th-- Abstain

Friday, March 17th-- Abstain

Friday, March 24th-- Abstain

Friday, March 31st-- Abstain

Friday, April 7th-- Abstain

Friday, April 14th-- Fast and Abstain (Good Friday)

Step 3--Plant and Tend Your Spiritual Garden

Lent is a great time to add a little something extra to your spiritual life. This could be praying a rosary every Friday, saying the Chaplet of Diving Mercy every day, doing extra spiritual reading, listening to a religious podcast, going to Mass one extra day every week, receiving Reconciliation every week, or reflecting on a passage from the Bible every day. There are so many great options out there-- I recommend searching "Lent ideas" on Pinterest to find something just right for you.

My Lent 2K17: I'm doing a hodge-podge of things, but the two things I am focusing on are spiritual reading and an Instagram challenge I found. First of all, I'm hoping to read a couple books in my personal library and will absolutely be reviewing them in my blog in the weeks to come. Second, this is the Instagram challenge I found (made by Bethanne's Best.com). I thought this was a great way to stay on social media, but focus on the positive instead of something negative, or simply yourself.

Step 4: Giving

This has always been a challenge for me-- mostly because I'm a bit stingy, but also because I've been a broke college student for the past several years. However, God has been very good to us and money is becoming not so much of an issue (not excusing my stinginess, however). We are called to share some of our resources with those less fortunate than us during the season of Lent. Again, there are so many great institutions and charities you could give to during these next 40 days. If money is an issue, volunteering your time is also a great way to give back. Make sure you research these organizations thoroughly before donating, though. I have found that some organizations I have wanted to donate to in the past support other organizations or practices that are in contradiction with Church teaching.

My Lent 2K17: Again, this is always hard for me. I haven't quite decided what to do for this Lenten season. I'm hoping to find a charity that helps care for young mothers and women struggling with unplanned pregnancies.

Step 5: Changes in Attitudes

Lent doesn't have to be a dark and dreary time. It isn't supposed to be all rainbows and sunshine either. In fact, its very fitting that Lent falls into this period of time just before spring arrives in the Northern Hemisphere. The earth and its people are preparing for new growth and new life in spring. That was super hippie-like, but very true. We, too, should be preparing and cultivating our souls for the upcoming springtime. I view Lent as a time of preparation and self-improvement. In fact, this year, I'm incredibly excited to see what happens as a result of the sacrifices I'm making and the additional steps I'm taking to improve my spiritual life. Lent can be a very fruitful, rewarding time if you are willing to take the initiative and hold yourself accountable. I know it's so tempting to see Lent as this time when Catholics and other Christians impose these ridiculous rules upon themselves. As one of these crazy people, let me assure you--I always come out of Lent feeling like a stronger, better, holier person when I give it my all during those 40 days.

My advice? Make the most of it. Do things that will make you a better person. Keep in mind the sacrifices you are making and the sacrifice that Jesus made. If that's too difficult for you, if you can't quite grasp that level of sacrifice, think about sacrifices ordinary people have made. My husband and I just watched a fantastic movie, Hacksaw Ridge (10/10, 5 stars, I loved it). I don't want to give anything away, but there is a long segment of the movie when the main character, Desmond Doss, accomplishes an incredible feat in spite of a terrifying battle and the criticism of his brothers in arms. He did all this through the power of faith and prayer, and a whole lot of bodily strength and perseverance. I keep thinking about this scene over and over again-- if this skinny guy was capable of doing this amazing thing, I can surely sacrifice just a little bit. If Jesus suffered and died for me, surely I can go 40 days without saying mean things about people. I know I'm human, I know I might mess up and make a mistake. But I know that I'm capable of giving up just these few pieces of my life in order to improve that life and become a stronger, holier person.


bottom of page